Ethics Steering Committee

The Ethics Steering Committee is expected to provide guidance to the campus community on best practices, ethical standards and principles.  While the committee is advisory to the AVC Ethics and Compliance, the Ethics and Compliance Board is responsible for oversight.  Specifically, the Committee, in collaboration with campus experts, is charged to:

  • Provide resources and guidance on areas of ethical concern, including consultation to staff and networking with other UC campuses
  • Coordinate research ethics activities across UCSF
  • Disseminate innovative teaching in ethics across the four schools
  • Develop in-depth ethics training and educate campus community
  • Monitor and track issues of ethical concern

Additionally,  three workgroups have convened to work on specific topics:

  • Industry Relations Advisory Group
  • Mandatory Training Subcommittee
  • Responsible Conduct of Research Subcommittee


Bero, Lisa Professor, School of Pharmacy, Dept. of Clinical Pharmacy
Carbone, Larry Associate Director, Laboratory Animal Resource Center
Cohen, Neal Vice Dean, School of Medicine
Gates, Elena (Chair) Professor, Obstetrics, Gynecology & Reproductive Sciences, School of Medicine
Heyman, Melvin Professor of Clinical Pediatrics, Department of Pediatrics

School of Medicine

Koenig, Barbara Adjunct Professor, Institute for Health and Aging

School of Nursing

Rehm, Roberta Associate Professor, Family Health Care Nursing

School of Nursing

Sargent, Peter Professor and Associate Dean Academic Affairs, Cell and Tissue Biology

School of Dentistry Dean’s Office

Smith, Wade Professor of Clinical Neurology, Neurovascular Service
School of Medicine
Ex Officio Members:
Boyd, Elizabeth

Associate Vice Chancellor, Ethics and Compliance

Chief Ethics & Compliance Officer, Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost

Schnetzler, Greta

Chief Campus Counsel, Office of Legal Affairs 

Hildebrand-Zanki, Susanne

Associate Vice Chancellor, Research, Office of Research, Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost 

Mah, Eric Senior Director, Research Compliance, Office of Ethics and Compliance 
Broderick, Irene  Committee Staff